International policies

Fahnen der G20 Mitgliedsstaaten

Bilateral cooperation

Germany has entered into bilateral agreements with eight neighbouring countries on the exchange of information regarding nuclear installations located in border regions. An extensive network of contacts exists between Germany and Belgium, France, the Netherlands, Austria, Switzerland and the Czech Republic. Joint commissions and expert groups have been set up with these countries. Annual consultations are held to discuss issues of nuclear safety, emergency preparedness and radiation protection. Additional working groups on nuclear safety and radiation protection respectively have been set up in the context of cooperation with France, the Netherlands and Switzerland. In these working groups, information on nuclear installations close to borders is exchanged with a particular focus on the following subjects:

  • changes relevant for permits or technical changes to nuclear installations near borders
  • operating experience, especially concerning incidents that require notification
  • regulatory development of safety requirements, especially regarding emergency preparedness measures in case of major incidents
  • general developments in the field of nuclear safety and radiation protection

In addition to the cooperation with neighbouring countries, there are a number of agreements with other states. However, the establishment of a commission is not necessarily required. Bilateral memoranda of understanding on the exchange of information were, for example, arranged with Japan and Korea, and an agreement on the exchange of information exists with China.

To topic

Transboundary EIA/SEA

Special instruments for international cooperation on environmental precautions are the transboundary strategic environmental assessment (SEA) and the transboundary environmental impact assessment (EIA). The EIA was established under the Espoo Convention, the SEA is rooted in the UNECE Protocol on Strategic Environmental Assessment which was adopted later. These two international treaties have been transposed into German national law by the Act on the Assessment of Environmental Impacts (UVPG).

If a project may have a considerable environmental impact on other countries, the competent authority of the "state of origin" sends an early notification to its counterparts in the other countries. If the competent authorities there are not known, the notification is sent to the Espoo contacts of the countries in question in order to inform them about the implementation of a transboundary participation in EIA processes. In Germany, pursuant to the UVPG, the authority competent for transboundary EIA or SEA corresponds to the authority competent for a similar procedure at national level (for example in the case of authorising a nuclear power plant this would be the responsible Land authorities).

In order to provide extensive information, the Federal Environment Ministry offers an overview of transboundary environmental impact assessment and strategic environmental assessment processes (EIA and SUP processes) for nuclear installations with German public participation on its website. For more information on the processes and details on the public participation, click on the linked pages of the competent authorities.

G7-Nuclear Safety and Security Group (G7-NSSG)

In 1975, the then most advanced industrialised countries created the Group of 7, G7, to discuss issues of the global economy. The G7 comprises Germany, France, the UK, Italy, Japan, Canada and the US. The Nuclear Safety and Security Group (NSSG) is a permanent body of the G7 dealing with questions of nuclear safety. The NSSG developed from the Nuclear Safety Working Group, established in 1992, which mainly dealt with the safety of Eastern European nuclear reactors of Russian design. In addition to the G7 countries, the European Commission, the OECD/NEA, the IAEA and the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development have an observer status. Due to the current political situation in Ukraine, Russia's participation has been suspended.

International Nuclear Regulators Association (INRA)

The International Nuclear Regulators Association (INRA) was established in 1997. The INRA comprises of the supreme regulatory authorities of countries with the most advanced nuclear technologies (Germany, France, Japan, Canada, Spain, Sweden, the US, the UK and South Korea). The chair rotates every year. INRA addresses issues of mutual interest and makes recommendations with a view to further strengthening nuclear regulatory authorities worldwide.


The Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) is based in Paris and is a semi-autonomous organisation within the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Today, 32 countries in Europe, America, Asia and Australia are members of the NEA. The Federal Republic of Germany is a founding member of the OECD and joined the NEA in 1958.

To topic

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)

The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) was founded in 1957 as an autonomous international organisation. It reports regularly to the United Nations General Assembly and is obligated to directly contact the United Nations Security Council if a threat to international safety is ascertained.

The IAEA's focal issues are

  • nuclear energy and nuclear applications
  • nuclear safety and security and
  • the monitoring of fissile, radioactive material (verification).

To topic

IRRS mission to Germany

As part of its International Regulatory Review Service (IRRS), the IAEA offers to conduct reviews of national regulatory authorities. The IRRS should be regarded as an instrument of reciprocal learning for national regulatory bodies throughout the world, with the aim of strengthening nuclear regulatory infrastructure as a whole and thereby enhancing nuclear safety. According to EU legislation, such peer reviews must be conducted every ten years (Directive 2014/87/Euratom amending Directive 2009/71/Euratom). The BMU hosted review missions in 2008 and 2011 (follow-up mission). Another mission is scheduled for 31 March to 12 April 2019.

To topic