of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

Based in Paris, the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) is a semi-autonomous organisation within the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). 33 countries in Europe, America, Asia and Australia belong to the NEA. The Federal Republic of Germany was a founding member of the OECD and has been a member of the NEA since 1958.

The NEA cooperates closely with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and the European institutions. The specific task of the NEA is to assist its member states in maintaining and further developing the scientific, technological and legal bases required for the safe, environmentally-friendly and economical use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes.

High-ranking experts representing the member states sit on these committees. Much of the specialist work associated with nuclear safety is conducted by the CNRA and CSNI committees; the RWMC committee deals with the management of radioactive waste, and the CRPPH committee is responsible for issues pertaining to radiation protection.

In Germany the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) is responsible for any activities relating to the NEA and its committees. As a member the BMU participates in the meetings of both the steering committee and the standing committees.