Reactor Safety Commission (RSK)

The RSK advises the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU) in matters related to the safety and security of nuclear facilities. Before the Nuclear Waste Management Commission (ESK) was established in 2008, the mandate of the RSK also included radioactive waste management. The RSK Committee on the nuclear fuel cycle was subsequently dissolved, meaning that the RSK currently has the following committees:

  • Plant and systems engineering
  • Pressure-retaining components and materials
  • Electric installations
  • Reactor operation
  • Reactor Safety Commission (RSK)