Commission on Process Safety (KAS)

The Commission on Process Safety was established in 2005, combining the two advisory bodies for process safety existing at the time, the Commission for Hazardous Incidents and the Technical Committee on Plant Safety.

The KAS advises the Federal Government or the competent federal ministry. It draws up expert opinions at regular intervals or as necessary, highlighting options for improving process safety and suggesting rules that conform to the state of the art in safety technology (safety rules).

The Commission is chaired by Dr Thomas Schendler (Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing). The vice chairs are Dr Reinhold Ertmann (Baden-Württemberg Ministry of the Environment, Climate Protection and the Energy Sector), Dr Ursula Fischbach (Friends of the Earth Germany), Dr Hans-Erich Gasche (Bayer Technologie Service GmbH) and Prof Christian Jochum.

The Commission has a total of 28 members from the groups to be included according to section 51a (3) of the Federal Immission Control Act (BImschG).